Lauren’s Weblog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Officially Graduated May 17, 2009

Filed under: College — thekeenanator @ 2:59 am
Tags: , , , , ,

Today, at 12 noon, I officially graduated from the Pennsylvania State University in the field of Telecommunications with a minor in Theatre. Wow that sounds….official. I even got two degrees. One for my major and one for my minor. It was nice, though the road to graduation was stressful, especially that last few days.

My sister headed to her Senior Prom on Friday. She is the last of my children in my family to go to her senior prom. Though her exit was fast, the preparation for this day was a week long thing. We had to clean the house from top to bottom, get nails done, pick up the dress, buy snacks, and so on. She was a princess and certainly looked like one as she headed off to the prom with a very cute and very sweet boy. From what I hear, she had fun.

Right after that, ok more like an hour after that, my mom’s friend arrived with the car we were taking up to Penn State. She was late, of course, so I suppose this fueled the stress a little more. The long car ride and my 4 hour playlist was ok. It’s amazing the difference great music can make. I have a new song too: Lift Me Up by Kate Voegele. Pretty much anything by Kate Voegele is really good. We arrived late and my parents wanted to take me out drinking. I was so not in the mood. But I went, the bars were packed so I was stressing…and suggested we go to the diner. So we did.

Today the yelling started when I woke up. 4 ppl to a hotel room is crazy with showers and everything. Cause for a lot of fighting and stuff. But we made it through to Graduation. But with lack of sleep and food, by the car ride back we were back to bickering again. The break for dinner at a great restaurant in West Chester was fun.

Over all, I think today was really good. Everyone was stressed. It happens. I know I was stressed. I have been so worried about making my little sister’s prom the perfect one, that I really hadn’t taken time to reflect on my day. And now that it’s here and gone, it’s nice. I mean I have a lot of learning left to do, but I can now do it on my own time.

As for a job, that will come on it’s own time. The speaker today said that we should do things on our own time. Because we can appreciate all that life has to offer. I have been in touch with a few different places. Trying to send out a few resumes a day and see where it puts me. Disney is still an option as well. However, right now, I think it’s time for a vacation. I want to go on a trip. To a place. With a friend. That’s all. I dunno where, I dunno who, I just want to go.

So here we go. Here comes life. Real Life.

I graduated. Yay!

 

Leave a Reply

