Lauren’s Weblog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Musings of a Snowbunny January 14, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — thekeenanator @ 12:38 am

This evening as I was walking to the gym, it was extremely cold and I thought to myself  I should have worn more clothes. As I walked out of the gym, it was snowing a fairly heavy snowfall. It was the most beautiful thing in the entire world. I decided that I would take the long way home, so I detoured by Old Main. I am one for Historical places. THey tell stories. So walking by Old Main I imagined the first group of students ever at PSU walking through snow. It must have been frustrating, but they would have left from Old Main because it used to be the only dorms. Interesting.

I had my iPod in. Jonas Brothers was playing, though I think Bella’s Lullaby and Claire de Lune would have been more appropriate. 

Have you ever watched a snowfall. I mean really watched it. Sitting on a bench or standing on the sidewalk. You breathe in the cold air and you can almost smell the snow. You can smell the snow before it even comes. Slowly the white puffs drift quietly to the ground. If they had a soundtrack, what would it be? I always imagined it to be quiet. Especially a soft snowfall that leaves a dusting, like the one I saw tonight. It’s peaceful. Sometimes when I watch the snowfall, all my cares and worries slip away. It’s relaxing and comforting.

I have this theory. Snow makes everything pure, new. This beautiful white coating it leaves brings promise of something new. After winter comes Spring and new life. It’s beautiful. It’s like putting frosting on a cake. It covers everything and makes it absolutely breathtaking. 

 

I will have many more snowfalls to watch here at Penn State. I am looking forward to all of them. Even if they prevent me from going home. This is a very beautiful thing.

*sigh* Snow. 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

