Lauren’s Weblog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Ponderings Over Coffee August 1, 2008

So I realize my last post was a bit of a downer. I must admit packing to leave for 5 months can get depressing. Then I realized, people do it all the time. People in the Army pack to go away for who knows how long and they don’t even know if they are going to return. So I guess I shouldn’t be too depressed. It’s still hard.

 

I’m at my internship right now and I am sitting here drinking my Starbucks coffee *a Grande Non-fat caramel macchiato…my fave!* and I am just thinking. We are done with the internship so I just have to make it through today and two days next week. I’ll be fine. Mmmm coffee.

 

Anyways I just thinking about different things. For example: Old Disney Channel Original Movies. Since they started in 1997 I have seen EVERY SINGLE ONE and I REMEMBER THEM! That’s a bit scary I know! Some of my favorites are: Brink, Motocrossed, Now You See It, Zenon, Halloweentown, A Ring of Endless Light, and a few others. It would never cross my mind how old these movies are until you do a search for them and realize they premiered when I was in middle school and high school. Now a college senior, I am amazed that I know so much about DCOMs. Wow.

 

Another thing I was thinking about is my attitude. It’s not a pleasant one. My mom likes to think that when I am with my friend Paul I am much happier about things. I’d like to agree with her, but I don’t think I would say that I am much much happier. Paul just makes my life interesting, fun, and new. I can do that on my own, I just choose not to. I was thinking that I need an attitude adjustment. Randy Pausch stated in his last lecture that there are two kinds of people: Tiggers or Eeyores. Tiggers are outgoing, have a positive outlook, and are fun. Eeyores *while cute as pie* are slugglish, mopey, and have a don’t care attitude.  I would like to think I am a Tigger but I know that sometimes I can have the attitude of Eeyore. I want to be a Tigger all the time.

 

So what am I doing about this? I have decided to take a new outlook. I am making it a point to find beauty in everything around me. The office phone for example. I have to answer it. So I smile through the phone when I do and maybe make someone else smile or feel more comfortable calling. I am also trying to get off of my computer more. This is hard to do at work, where I do a lot of work on the computer, but I am trying. I also want to take a daily walk. Not one that is rushed either. I want to take everything in, breathe deeply, and relax. There is beauty in everything, you just have to find it.

 

More ponderings: I do a lot more when I am busy. I realized that since I have been home this summer I have gained a few pounds, watched a lot of reruns on TV, and just been lazy. I really haven’t been outdoors too much and I move slow. The busier I am the more active I am, the better I do. I think one thing that benefitted me this summer, was the fact that I made it a point to sing every day. This way my vocals are still on track, even if I get sick every three weeks. No one can stop me from singing.

 

I like to laugh and smile and do crazy things. When I’m not busy though, I tend to be grumpy, tired all the time, and just blah. It’s time for a Attitude Makeover. Watch out World Here comes a happier Lauren!

 

Oh and at work yesterday I made a Kevin Jonas background of my computer on Photoshop. There will be NO Kevin hate here!

 

Leave a Reply

